Featured Headline News Nigeria

President Buhari nominates board members for EFCC, others

President Muhammadu Buhari has written the Senate to confirm appointments of the Secretary and Board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The nominees are; Mr. George Abang Ekpungu, from Cross River, who will serve as Secretary of the Commission, while Alhaji Lukman Muhammed from Edo, Anumba Adaeze from Enugu, Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina from Kwara, and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad from Yobe states will serve as members.

The President also requests the confirmation of the following as officers for the Upstream Regulatory Commission; Alhaji Isa Ibrahim Modibbo as Chairman, Engr. Gbenga Komolafe as Chief Executive, and Mallam Hassan Gambo as Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts; and Ms Rose Ndong Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management.

For the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority, President Buhari requested the confirmation of Idaere Gogo Ogan as Chairman, Engr. Sarki Auwalu as Chief Executive, Abiodun Adeniji as Executive Director, Finance and Accounts while Ogbugo Ukoha for the office of Executive Director, Distributions Systems, Storage and Retail Infrastructure.

Citing the provisions of the different laws governing the establishments, President Buhari urges the Senate to consider and confirm the nominees in an expeditious manner.

Reporting by Abdullah Bello, editing by Muzha Kucha