Headline Local News

Ekiti govt establishes 5 new schools

Ekiti State Government has established five new public secondary schools as part of efforts to improve access to standard education in the state.

This followed the recent handing over of missionary secondary schools to the owners.

Among the missionary schools handed over to their owners, are Christ’s Boys and Girls schools, Marry immaculate, all in Ado Ekiti, Annunciation secondary school, Ikere Ekiti as well as Baptist Girls school Ifaki Ekiti which are now under the control of Anglican, Catholic and Baptist Churches.

The State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Dr. Bimpe Aderiye visited the new public schools where academic activities have commenced.

She explained that the new schools were established to ensure that students were properly accommodated since not all parents could afford the amount being charged by the authorities of the missionary schools.

Dr Aderiye reiterated the commitment of the Fayemi led administration to the provision of free, qualitative and compulsory education to all school age children in the state.

The Commissioner listed the new schools as Saint Michael Secondary School, Ifaki Ekiti; Baptist Secondary School, Ikere Ekiti; Saint
Michael Secondary School, Ado Ekiti; Saint Thomas Secondary School, Irona, Ado Ekiti and Deji Fasuan Model College, Afao Road, Ado Ekiti.

Ekiti State government had last year established three model colleges in Ado Ekiti, the state capital while the Fourth one Deji Fasuan Model College started academic activities in this new session.

Reporting by Amos Oriola, edited by Adeniyi Bakare