Headline Kaduna Local News Nigeria

Elrufai reshuffles cabinet

Governor Nasiru Elrufai of Kaduna State has reshuffled his cabinet.

The Special Adviser to the governor on Media and publicity Mr Muyiwa Adekeye said the development was designed to help harness fresh energy for development.

Mr Adekeye explained that, eight out of the 14 commissioners swapped portfolios, stressing that, there were no changes in the ministries of Finance, Justice, Health, Housing & Urban Development, Internal Security and Home Affairs as well as  Human Services and Social Development.

 He said Alhaji Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, the Chief of Staff, returns to the Planning & Budget Commission,

Mr Muyiwa Adekeye said the new portfolios for the commissioners being reassigned are Ministry for Environment Alhaji Jaafaru Sani, Public Works and Infrastructure Mr Thomas Gyang, Ministry of  Education, Hajiya Halima Lawal while Ibrahim Hussaini Ministry for Agriculture.

Others are Alhaji Shehu Usman Mohammed Ministry for Local Government, Professor Kabiru Mato

Business, Innovation & Technology and Sports Development Mr Idris Nyam.

Mr Muyiwa also Stated that, Following the passage of the law creating metropolitan authorities to manage Kaduna, Kafanchan and Zaria as organic cities, Malam Nasiru El-Rufai has nominated Hajiya Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa Administrator, Zaria Metropolitan Authority, Malam Muhammad Hafiz Bayero Administrator, Kaduna Capital Territory while Mrs Phoebe Sukai Yayi Administrator, Kafanchan Municipal Authority.

Governor El-Rufai has also approved the deployment  Hajiya Umma Aboki as Permanent Secretary, Planning & Budget Commission, Murtala Dabo Executive Chairman, Fiscal Responsibility Commission while Abubakar Hassan DG, Kaduna State Contributory Health Management Authority (KADCHMA)

Others are Tamar Nandul Managing Director, Kaduna Markets Development & Management Company, Khalil Nur Khalil Excutive Secretary, Kaduna Investment Promotion Agency (KADIPA) while Maimunatu Abubakar GM, Kaduna Environmental Protection Agency (KEPA)

Amina Ladan will oversee the Kaduna State Roads Agency (KADRA) following the redeployment of Engineer Muhammad Lawal Magaji to the Ministry of Public Works & Infrastructure.

The government has also announced the appointments of Professor Mohammed Sani as chairman of the Local Government Service Board; Muhammed Muazu Muqaddas as Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Authority (SEMA) and Dr. Shuaibu Shehu Aliyu as Permanent Secretary.

The governor has nominated Dr. Ishaya Sarki Habu (chairman), Aminu Yusuf Musa, Engr. Rabiu Tanko and Rebecca Nnawo Barde as the new members of the Legislative Service Commission.

Malam Nasir El-Rufai has conveyed the state government’s gratitude for the service of Aliyu Saidu, former DG-KADCHMA and Lawal Jibrin, former GM of KEPA,  who are leaving the government.

Aminu Dalhatu