Headline Local News

Jailbreak: Police rearrest 13 escapees from Abolongo prison

Thirteen prisoners who escaped from the prison in Abolongo, Oyo State, have been rearrested in Osun State.

The escapees were arrested in Ejigbo, Ejigbo local government area of the state on Sunday.

The spokesperson of the Osun Police Command, Yemisi Opalola, confirmed the arrest of the escapees.

Those arrested are Adekanbi Kola, Semiu Sali, Garuba Nurudeen, Ismaila Garuba, Nasifi Garuba, Qadri Yusuf, Bamidele Kehinde, and Ezekiel Owolabi.

Others are Daodu Emmanuel, Dele Babatunde, Adeyemo Ifalowo, Ridwan Akinsola and Sola Owolabi.

Opalola said the prisoners would be transferred to the state criminal investigative department for onward transfer to Oyo state.

In the meantime, the Federal government has expressed its determination to recapture all escapees, dead or alive.

Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, stated this during an inspection visit to the correctional centre on Sunday.

Editing by Adeniyi Bakare