Featured Football Headline News Sport

Lionel Messi wins 7th Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi has extended his Ballon d’Or prize to seven after France Football named him the winner of the 2021 edition.

The Argentine defeated major contender Robert Lewandowsky of Bayern Munich to win the 65th edition of the award on Monday at Chatelet Theatre in Paris

Messi has won seven of the award, while his closest rival Cristiano Ronaldo has five Ballon d’Or to his name.

Messi, Lewandowski, Benzema, N’Golo Kante and Jorghinho were the top five finalists.

Since Messi won his first with Barcelona in 2009, the Argentine has always appeared among the top ten contenders.

Apart from Ronaldo, Lionel Messi has only lost the title to Luka Modric in 2018.

Messi won four straight Ballon d’Or from 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012. He continued to win the prize in 2015 and 2019.