Featured Headline NASS News Nigeria

PMB asks Senate to confirm minister, new INEC commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate to confirm the nomination of Mr Muazu Sambo from Taraba State as minister-designate.

The nominee is to replace the former Minister of Power, Sale Mamman, who was sacked in September, along with Sabo Nanono, former Agriculture minister.

President Buhari also urged the Senate to confirm the nomination of National Commissioners and Resident Electoral Commissioners to replace the outgoing ones.

Senate President, Dr Ahmad Lawan read the letter during the plenary session on Tuesday in Abuja.

The list of the nominees contained the names of Malam Mohammed Haruna from Niger State (North Central) as National Commissioner, Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu, (Delta State) National Commissioner; and Okeagu Kenneth Nnamdi, Abia State,(South East) National Commissioner.

Also appointed are Major General A.B. Alkali (retd) Adamawa State (North East), National Commissioner; Professor Rada Gumus, Bayelsa State, (South-South), National Commissioner; Mr Sam Olumeku, Ondo State, (South West), National Commissioner; and Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye, Ondo State, (South West) (Resident Electoral Commissioner.)

President Buhari also sent the names of nominees of commissioners for the National Population Commission.

They are Mr Benedict Opong, Mrs Gloria Izofor, Mrs Patricia Iyayan Kuchi, Dr Bala Haliru, and Dr Iyatayo Oyetunbi. President Buhari’s nomination of Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu as INEC commissioner representing Delta state effectively ends the hopes of Lauretta Onochie who he nominated for the same position.

However, the Senate rejected her nomination on the grounds that it flouted the principle of federal character.

Ms Onochie, is the presidential aide, was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari in October 2020 and nominated as INEC commissioner to represent Delta State.

Writing by Abdullahi Lamino, editing by Adeniyi Bakare