Headline Imo Local News Nigeria

Imo Assembly suspends 3 lawmakers

The Imo State House of Assembly has again suspended 3 lawmakers for an alleged boycott of the process leading to the passage of next year’s appropriation bill.

Those affected are the representative of Ideato North Chief Arthur Egwim, that of Isu Mrs Ngozi Obiefule, and the lawmaker representing Nkwerre Mr Obinna Okwara, all of the ruling All Progressives Congress in the state.

The Speaker of the House Chief Kennedy Ibeh announced this in Owerri during a plenary on Thursday.

He said the indefinite suspension was to check recalcitrance among the lawmakers.

The Speaker also declared the Seat of Ngor Okpala State Constituency vacant over the failure of the lawmaker representing the area Mr Tochi Okereke to attain the constitutionally required number of sittings within a given period.

According to him, the records indicate that the lawmaker had not made an appearance to the house since this year noting that he only attended sittings 19 times in 2020 and 29 times in 2019.

Chief Ibeh, therefore, directed that a bye-election be conducted in the constituency to replace the lawmaker.

The affected lawmakers were yet to react to the development.

This is the fourth time the House under three different Speakers is suspending lawmakers for alleged misconduct.

Reporting by Chinazo Ilechukwu; editing by Abdullahi Lamino