Election FCT Featured Headline News Nigeria

FCT holds area council election

Voters queue up at polling unit 007, LEA primary school, Mpape. Photo credit INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) conducted elections for chairmen and councillors in the federal capital territory’s 6 area councils on Saturday.

The elections held in Abaji, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje, Kwali and Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC).

INEC said 14 political parties and 472 candidates are taking part.

It also said it deployed 2,822 Biometric Voters Accreditation System (BVAS) and 12,000 Adhoc staff for the poll.

1,373,492 registered voters are expected to participate in the elections, in 2,229 polling units.

Voting began later than 9am in most polling units, in violation of the mandated 8:30am start-off time.

According to a presiding officer at voting unit 001 in Dutse ward, who spoke with TheCable, the delay was as a result of the late arrival of election materials at the polling station.

Also read;Police restore restriction of movement over FCT polls

Writing by Tola Oguneye