Headline National News Nigeria

FG inaugurates roadmap for Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs  

In a bid to actualise its mandate, the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development has designed a Roadmap, laying out its action plans and strategies towards ensuring social security for all citizens.

The Roadmap with the theme “mapping out a life of dignity for all” builds on previous National Plans and development strategies, all borne out of the need to upscale the Ministry’s intervention and proffer long-term solutions for vulnerable people and communities in Nigeria.

At the inauguration of the strategic Roadmap in Abuja, the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo stressed that the plan was part of the Federal Government’s initiative to deliver social security to Nigerians.

Represented by his Deputy Chief of Staff, Adeola Ipaye, the Vice-President reiterated the Federal Government’s efforts towards ensuring that no Nigerian is left behind in the government policies and programmes.

The Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Hajiya Sadiya Umar-Farouq said the plan will be achieved through seven pillars, which would support the Ministry and all agencies under its supervision in driving all its activities.

“It is expected that after the formal launch today, every policy, programme, initiative, and activities of our units, departments, and agencies will be aligned with the Strategic Roadmap,” Hajiya Umar-Farouq said.

“Quarterly strategic review meetings will also be held, in line with the set targets and corresponding timelines across all units, departments and agencies supervised by the Ministry,” she stressed.

The Country Director for the International Labor Organization office in Nigeria, Vanessa Phala reiterated the United Nations continued support to Nigeria especially in lifting the people out of poverty.

The roadmap is designed to cover a five-year period beginning from 2021 to 2025.

Reporting by Hadiza Abdulrahman; Editing by Daniel Adejo and Tony Okerafor