Headline National News Nigeria

NSA appoints zonal coordinators for arms control centre

The National Security Adviser, NSA retired Major general Babagana Monguno has approved the six zonal Coordinators for the National Centre for the Control of Small Arms and Light Weapons for the six geo-political zones of the country.

A statement by the Director Media Communications of the Centre Air Commodore Ewejide Akintunde said the appointment of the Zonal Coordinators was announced by the Pioneer National Coordinator of the Centre Retired Major General Abba Mohammed Dikko following the accent by the National Security Adviser.

The appointment of the Zonal Coordinator for the six geo-political zones was in pursuant of the mandate of the centre to further operationalise its activities across the Federa[ption toward the eradication of illicit small arms and light weapons across the nation.

The statement further stated that the appointment of the zonal Coordinators comprises retired officers from the security agencies.

The appointees include Retired Air Vice marshal HD Mohammed for the North-West zone, Retired Major General H Bature for North – Central and retired Rear Admiral AS Mohammed, North-East zone, others are Mr Akinlade Ben Sola, a retired officer of the DSS for the South Western zone.

Retired Major General Okechukwu Ugo for the South-East zone and Retired Major General IM Obot for the South-South geo-political zone.

The statement added that the National Coordinator noted that all the appointees are qualified senior experienced officers from the security and intelligence agencies carefully selected to administer the affairs of the centre at the sub-national levels.

The appointment of the zonal Coordinators closely followed an approval granted by NSA for the establishment of zonal centres in the six geo-political zones of the country namely Kaduna, Minna, Maiduguri, Ado-Ekiti, Enugu and Calabar.

The appointment according to the statement was done to ensure the attainment of the centres’ mandate in ensuring an Arms free society.

Reporting by Emmanuel Ejim, Editing by Omotola Oguneye