FCT Headline Local News Nigeria

FCT Minister suspends swearing in of elected LGA Chairmen

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory Malam Muhammad Musa Bello has suspended the swearing-in Ceremony of elected Area Councils Chairmen Slated for 20th May 2022.

The suspension followed the court ruling in favour of incumbent Area Councils Chairmen’s tenure elongation from three years to four years.

The chairmen’s tenure elapses today based on the 2010 Electoral Act that stipulates three years of tenure for elected council chairmen and ward councils.

However, a ruling by a court in the FCT had directed the administration to suspend the inauguration based on the recently signed Electoral Act of 2022, which stipulates the tenure of office of the chairmen of the area councils in FCT would now be four years instead of three.

FCT Minister, Malam Bello, in a statement, said though not satisfied with the judgment, the administration would honour the court ruling as a “law-abiding government.”

The statement reads:” A few days ago, we received communication of a judgment by a court in the Federal Capital Territory directing us to suspend the inauguration of the new chairmen, based on the fact that the current chairmen’s tenure would end today, 19th May 2022.

“According to the judgment, chairmen whose tenure were meant to expire or end today, have another one year to continue, based on the new law.”

The FCT Minister, therefore, noted that the Administration as a law-abiding government had no option but to suspend the planned inauguration of the six area council chairmen based on the injunction of the court.

Reporting by Remi Johnson, editing by Daniel Adejo