Headline National News Nigeria

Election primaries: Emerging governorship candidates

The Vision Leader of Lagos for Lagos Movement, Dr Olajide Adediran has emerged as the gubernatorial candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State.

This comes six months after Dr Adediran defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the PDP, promising to resurrect the party and win elections in Lagos State.

The Chairman of the Electoral Committee of the PDP Governorship Election, Emmanuel Ogidi announced that Dr Adediran scored 679 votes while his closest rival, David Kolawole Vaughan polled 20 votes, with 10 other votes declared void votes.

Earlier, four Governorship aspirants withdrew from the race to support the aspiration of Dr Adediran to secure the party ticket.

Similarly, Former House of Representatives member, David Ombugadu emerged winner of the Nasarawa state PDP primary election.

Mr Ombugadu scored 247 votes to defeat Nuhu Angbazo, who garnered 203 votes.

Mr Ombugadu was also the state PDP governorship flag-bearer in the 2019 general election.

Meanwhile, Alhaji Sharif Abdu has been declared winner of the PDP governorship primary election in Yobe state.

Declaring the result, the returning officer, Dr Aminu Taura said Mr Abdu got 295 votes to defeat two other aspirants.

Dr Ali Adamu Tikau came second with 129 votes while Abba Gana Tata came third with 109 votes.

The number of accredited delegates for the Yobe PDP Governorship primaries stands at 539, with six invalid votes.

Also, The Son of Former Jigawa State Governor, Mustapha Sule Lamido emerged gubernatorial flag-bearer of the PDP in Jigawa state.

Mr Lamido won the contest at the party primary election held at Dutse stadium.

Announcing the result, the Chairman, electoral panel, Isah Ahmed said Mr Lamido scored 829 votes. 

In Borno state, Alhaji Mohammed Jajari emerged as the PDP Governorship candidate. 

Declaring the result in Maiduguri, Chairman of the party Primary election committee, Alhaji Abdulrahman Bobboi said Mr Jajari polled 487 votes to defeat Mohammed Imam who polled 362 votes. 

Reporting by Wahab Akinlade, Yusuf Usman, Alkasim Bala, Usman MZ and Dauda Iliya; Editing by Omotola Oguneye