Business Headline News Nigeria

FG inaugurates committee on made-in-Nigeria products

Dr Kingsley Uzomah, Dr. Mohammed Yakubu, Prof Salihu Mustafa, The Executive Vice Chairman, NASENI  Prof.Mohammed Sani Haruna and the chairman PICTT, Dr Mohammed Dahiru at the inauguration of the assessment committee of the Presidential Implementation Committee.

The Federal Government has inaugurated a Committee to carry out the assessment of the submissions by Nigerian companies on the  MoU signed between the Federal Government and the Czech Republic on the Delta 2 project.
This is contained in a statement by the Deputy Director, Information NASENI, Mr. Olusegun Ayeoyenikan.

The Chairman, Presidential Implementation Committee (PIC) on Technology/Information Exchange between Nigeria and the Czech Republic, Dr. Muhammed Dahiru said over 200 Nigerian companies so far had applied to take part in the Delta-2 project, following a public call for proposal earlier this year.

He disclosed that the purpose of hosting the federal government’s ongoing technology transfer agreement with the Czech Republic was to diversify the economy of Nigeria from oil.

While inaugurating the Committee, the Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive of the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI), Prof. Mohammed Sani Haruna, who is also co-Chair of the Presidential committee said President Muhammadu Buhari had earlier 2020 inaugurated the Presidential Implementation Committee on Technology Transfer/Information Exchange between the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Czech Republic (PICTT), with the following focal areas of Agricultural Equipment, Machinery, Production and Processing, Mining Equipment, Machinery, Production and Processing and General manufacturing with emphasis on micro, small, and medium enterprises.

Prof Haruna said the Delta-2 Programme was the cooperation model of the TACR, running from 2020-2025 through which TACR sponsors applied research and innovation of manufacturing companies and innovative institutions.

According to him, ten point five million US dollars has been allocated as research fund by the Czech government On behalf of the FGN, while NASENI will supplement with US$ 10 million“.

He said 284 Public Proposals for Delta-2 Programme have been submitted for screening, noting that the thematic areas for proposals are Agriculture with a total proposal of 78 (27.5%), Mining and SMEs, Mining 12 (4.2%) and SMEs 194 (86.3%). 

Prof Haruna, therefore, urged the committee members to ensure that projects from the companies to be selected are Made-in-Nigeria technologies and products that could bring about industrial revolution and transform the country .
The chairmen of the various assessment committees are as follows: Professor Michael Faborode(Agriculture), professor Mosto Onuoha(Mining), Mr Dike Aguonye(Technologies for SMEs Development) and Engr.Prof.Suleiman Aruwa heads the Advisory committee.

Reporting  by RABI Momoh, editing by Daniel Adejo