Featured Headline News

Osinbajo departs for US, seek global partnerships

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, has departed Abuja for the United States of America on Wednesday morning to seek global partnerships and support for Nigeria’s recently launched Energy Transition Plan.

Prof Osinbajo is leading Nigeria’s Energy Transition Implementation Working Group (ETWG) on the US mission to promote the plan and secure global support from the US government, the private sector, and other development partners.

According to the statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity to Vice President, Laolu Akande, Prof Osinbajo is expected to meet US Vice President, Kamala Harris; US Secretary of Energy, Jennifer Granholm; Secretary of Treasury, Janet Yellen, and President of World Bank Group, David Malpass, among others.

The Vice President is also scheduled to speak on Nigeria’s Energy Transition Plan at the Centre for Global Development in Washington DC.

”At the launch, the World Bank and a renewable energy organization – Sun Africa, pledged a sum of $1.5 billion each totaling an initial $3 billion investment to support the implementation of Nigeria’s Energy Transition Plan”. Laolu Akande stated.

The Energy Transition Implementation Working Group which is chaired by the Vice President comprises relevant ministers and other top government officials.

VP Osinbajo leaving Nigeria on Wednesday morning to lead a Federal Government delegation to Washington DC to pitch Nigeria’s Energy Transition Plan.

Nigeria’s Energy Transition Plan officially launched last week at a global virtual event is a homegrown, data-backed and multi-pronged strategy developed for the attainment of 2060 net-zero emissions commitment in 5 critical sectors : Power, Cooking, Oil & Gas, Transport & Industry.

Nigeria needs $410 billion to deliver the Transition Plan by 2060.

Prof Osinbajo will also meet US Secretary of Energy, Jennifer Granholm; Secretary of Treasury, Janet Yellen; and President of World Bank Group, David Malpass; among others.

The Vice President’s delegation to the US will include Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola; Minister of Power, Abubakar Aliyu; Minister of Environment, Mohammed Abdullahi and Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva.

The Vice President will return to Abuja early next week.

Writing by Adeniyi Bakare