Featured Headline National News Nigeria

FG inaugurates 15-man committee for Independence day celebration

The Federal Government has inaugurated a 15-man Inter-Ministerial Committee to organize the celebration of the nation’s 62nd Independence day anniversary.

Inaugurating the Committee in Abuja, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha, said the term of reference include to plan, organize and execute all approved activities befitting Nigeria’s 62nd Independence anniversary celebration on 1st October, 2022, as well as document for posterity, all planned activities for the Anniversary.

The SGF pointed out that the Committee would also co-opt organizations and persons relevant to the successful execution of the programmes, as well as carry out other assignments required towards the successful implementation of the celebration.

He said the Committee would meet regularly to give necessary direction on all the activities earmarked for the Celebration, while sub-committees would be constituted to assist in executing specific assignments from the Inter-Ministerial Committee.

The Committee is to be chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation while Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office is the Secretary.

Other members to serve in the committee include; Minister of Information and Culture, Minister of Interior, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Federal Capital Territory Administration and Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs.

Also, National Security Adviser, Special Adviser to President on Policy and Coordination, Permanent Secretary, State House, Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Inspector-General of Police, Director-General, Department of State Services and Commander, Guards Brigade

Writing by Ibrahim Shuaibu;Editing by Chinasa Ossai & Annabel Nwachukwu