2023 Election Election Headline National News Politics

ADC constitutes 8-man committee

An eight-man caretaker committee has been constituted by the National Executive Council of the African Democratic Congress, to pilot the affairs of the party.

According to a statement issued by the chairman of the National Caretaker Committee, Kingsley Temitope Ogga, the committee emerged following the expiration of the Ralph Okey Nwosu-led National Working Committee of the party.

The newly appointed caretaker committee is being chaired by Senator Patricia Naomi Akwashiki, the current chairman of the Board of Trustees, while Kennedy Odion is to act as Secretary.

Other members of the new interim national leadership of the ADC included Lady Angela Johnson, Prof. Kabiru Isah Dangogo, Manzo Ibrahim, Lesanmi Omolayo, Kingsley Temitope Ogga, and Emma Dibia (Legal Adviser).

The statement says the main terms of reference of the new interim leadership is to plan and conduct a National Convention to elect substantive national officers within the next six weeks.

Last week Wednesday, 27 State chairmen of the ADC had, during an NEC meeting of the party called on Nwosu to vacate office following the expiration of his tenure.Nwosu had been piloting the party’s affairs for the last 17 years.

Writing by Muzha Kucha