Local News Niger Nigeria

Niger state majority leader,others impeached

The only female legislator and two other principal officers of the Niger State House of Assembly have been impeached. 

This followed a dramatic twist of event that led to the impeachment of the Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader and Chief Whip of the State House of Assembly at plenery in Minna.

Despite moves by the Speaker of Niger state House of Assembly, Abdullahi Bawa Wuse to stop the impeachment process, it went on; leading to the impeachment of three principal officers.

Among the principal officers that were impeached are Majorty leader member representing Kontagora constituency Sale Ibrahim, Deputy Majorty leader and member representing Gurara constituency, Hajiya Binta Mamman  as well as the Chief Whip member representing Lapai constituency, Idris Musa Vatsa. 

Those impeached were accused of being incompetent in the discharge of their constitutional mandate. 

Problem started when the member representing Edati Constituency, Salihu Tama stood up to present a motion under matter of urgent public importance but was overruled by the Speaker who said that he has not presented the motion before the plenary and as such, the Legislator cannot be allowed to make his presentation.

The Speaker was however overruled by members and when given the opportunity to speak, Salihu Mohammed Tama, moved for the impeachment of Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader and the Chief Whip.

The motion was seconded by member representing Borgu Constituency as the Legislators chose the successors of the impeached principal officers.

The new principal officers are the Majority Leader who is a member representing Borgu Constituency, Mohammed Abba Bala, while Abdulmalik Madaki Bosso representing Bosso Constituency is the new Deputy Majority Leader and Salihu Tama Edati took over as the new Chief Whip of the Niger state House of Assembly.

Reporting by Aliyu Lawal; Editing by Julian Osamoto & Annabel Nwachukwu