2023 Election Featured Headline News Nigeria Politics

19 INEC RECs take oath of office

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has sworn in Nineteen Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECS.

On the occasion in Abuja, INEC Chairman Professor Mahmoud Yakubu said out of the nineteen RECs, Five were re-appointment while Fourteen were fresh appointments.

The INEC boss who urged them to Bring their wealth of knowledge in their new jobs reminded them, that their loyalty and allegiance is to Nigeria and the citizens.

Professor Yakubu advised the RECs to collaborate with staff at their respective states for the remaing one hundred and thirteen days before the 2023 general èlection.

He also urged them to abide by the provisions of the law and the commission’s regulations and guidelines.

He advised the new RECs to always consult the stakeholders and be guided by the provisions of the commission’s code of conduct while dealing with the general public.

According to Professor Yakubu all matters pertaining to official responsibilities should be conducted in the office and attended by the relevant staff and properly documented.

He emphasised that, the only means of Voter Accreditation in the forthcoming election is the Bi modal Voter Accreditation System, BVAS.

In his response, one of the RECs, Mr Obo Effanga who was posted to Edo State on behalf of others pledged to work to deepen democracy and ensure credible polls next year.

Some of the RECs and their Posting include Dr Nura Ali, Sokoto, Dr Mahmuda Isa ,Kaduna, Queen Elizabeth Agu, Anambra, Muhammed Bulama Nura, Bauchi, Professor Samuel Egwu, Benue, Yomere Gabriel Oritsemolebi Cross River among others.

Reporting by Ogochukwu Okoronkwo; Editing by Abdullahi Lamino, Chinasa Ossai