Headline Local News Nigeria Osun

Gov Adeleke dethrones 3 monarchs

Osun State Governor, Ademola Adeleke has dethroned three monarchs appointed by his predecessor, Adegboyega Oyetola.

Former Governor Oyetola had appointed several monarchs and approved the appointment of 30 permanent secretaries to the various ministries a few weeks before handing over the government to Adeleke.

These, include Akirun of Ikirun, Oba Yinusa Akadiri, Aree of Iree, Oba Ademola Oluponle and Oba Adegboyega Famodun.

A statement by the spokesperson of Osun state governor, Olawale Rasheed announced that the thrones of Akirun of Akirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo remain unoccupied pending the outcome of a Committee of Inquiry to review their appointments and subsequent installations.

According to the statement, the six Executive Orders issued by the governor which border on the reversal of monarchs appointments, appointment and placement of civil servants, employment and freezing of government accounts have been signed this morning and take immediate effect.

“All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies.

The Governor, according to the statement, also ordered the reversal of appointments into civil service and directed heads of government agencies to embark on staff audits immediately.

“All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 be and are hereby nullified”, he said.

Similarly, a statement issued by the Secretary to the State Government, Teslim Igbalaye ordered the immediate suspension of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission, OSIEC.

Writing by Abdullahi Lamino