2023 Election Cross Rivers Election FCT Headline Nasarawa National News Nigeria

Mock accreditation ‘will prepare’ us for elections- INEC

All is now set for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct its mock accreditation of voters across the country on Saturday.

This is to ensure a seamless performance in the forthcoming elections scheduled for February 25.

To this end, INEC’s Resident Electoral Commissioner in Nasarawa state, Dr Uthman Ajidagba said the mock accreditation will be held in 12 polling units of six local government areas of the state.

Dr Ajidagba said the exercise was to “test-run the functionality of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS).

The INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner called on eligible voters in the respective polling units to turn out in large numbers and participate in the mock accreditation.

The situation is not different in Cross River State where the mock accreditation exercise is expected to commence on Saturday, according to INEC’s Head of Voter Education in the state, Anthonia Nwobi.

Mrs Nwobi said the exercise would enable the commission ascertain the viability of both hard and software for the polls, explaining that the exercise will hold in 12 selected Polling Units, in six Local Government Areas and across the three Senatorial Districts of the state.

Meanwhile, INEC has appealed to those “residing at selected polling units” during the period of the Mock accreditation to come out and participate in the exercise.

FCT resident electoral Commissioner, Alhaji Yahaya Bello made the appeal while speaking with Newsmen on the Commission’s level of preparedness for the exercise scheduled for Saturday.

Alhaji Bello named Abuja Municipal and Bwari as the Two Area councils Selected for the exercise in the FCT.

He called on “critical stakeholders”, particularly leaders of political parties” to make themselves available in all the designated polling units on Saturday to observe the exercise.

The mock accreditation is expected to commence by 8:30 in the morning and end at 3:30 in the afternoon.

Reporting by Chris Nyamtu, Michael Akpang and Kayode Oyedare; Editing by Oluwaseyi Ajibade and Tony Okerafor