Football Headline News Sport

Peseiro names 23-Man squad for Guinea-Bissau double header

Super Eagles head Coach José Santos Peseiro has invited a strong 23 man team comprising club captain Ahmed Musa, in-form forwards Victor Osimhen, Ademola Lookman with 20 others to play the Djurtus of Guinea Bissau in their AFCON qualifiers.

Nigeria and Guinea Bissau will first clash at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja on Friday, 24th March, with the second match coming up at the Estadio 24 de Setembro in Bissau on Monday, 27th March.

Meanwhile captain of the Nigeria U20 side that finished third at the recently-concluded Africa U20 Cup of Nations in Egypt, Daniel Bameyi was called alongside team goalkeeper Chijioke Aniagboso while in-form goalkeeper Victor Sochima of Rivers United will contend for the number one shirt with Francis Uzoho.

Players are expected to start arriving the team camp in Abuja on Sunday, 19th March.

Table-toppers Nigeria are on maximum six points after handing out defeats to Sierra Leone and Sao Tome and Principe while the Djurtus are in second place on four points after also defeating Sao Tome and Principe and drawing the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone.

Full list of invited Players:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK, Turkey); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Calvin Bassey (FC Ajax, The Netherlands); Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta BC, Italy); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England).

Writing by Tersoo Nicholas