Headline News Politics

Reps-elect minority caucus pledge to protect democracy  

The House of Representatives members-elect into minority political Parties have held a strategic meeting ahead of the inauguration of the 10th Assembly. 

The lawmakers who attended are from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Social Democratic Party (SDP) Youth Progressive Party (YPP), and New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP). 

Speaking on behalf of the caucus, a member from Bayelsa state Fredrick Agbedi, who congratulated all the members of the Minority Parties, urged them to see Nigeria as their Constituency.  

According to him, the meeting was organized to enable them to network and familiarize themselves, adding that with the outcome of the elections, the Minority Caucuses is having greater number to deepen the role of the opposition in the House. 

The leader of the Labour Party caucus, George Ozodinobi, stated that the resolution of the LP Caucus in the choice of the House leadership will be based on competence, character and integrity. 

A member from Plateau State, Mrs. Beni Lar, gave an assurance that the minority caucus will work together to bring about good leadership to the tenth Assembly.  

While urging all the minority caucuses to remain united, she harped on the need to define their collective interests and friendship in order to strengthen democratic structure in the 10th Assembly. 

Earlier, the Chairman of the event, Dachung Bagos, expressed optimism that the Minority Caucus will achieve what nobody thinks they could achieve. 

The lawmakers unanimously adopted a slogan: “10th Assembly, greater majority”.  

Reporting by Ibrahim Shehu; Editing by Annabel Nwachukwu