Headline News Politics

Timipre Sylva wins APC governorship ticket in Bayelsa

The former Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva has emerged as the candidate for the All Progressives Congress in the November 11, 2023 Governorship election in Bayelsa State. 

Chairman of the APC Governorship Primary Election Committee, Retired Major General Ahmed Jibrin made the declaration on Saturday at the Party’s Secretariat in Yenagoa following the conduct of the Guber Primaries in the one hundred and five Wards across the eight local government areas of the state. 

Chief Sylva defeated five other aspirants including the Governor elect in the 2019 election, Chief David Lyon to pick the APC’s Governorship ticket. 

According to Major General Ahmed Jibrin, Chief Sylva polled a total of fifty-two thousand and sixty-one votes out of the total accredited votes cast of fifty-eight thousand, one hundred and forty-one in the direct primaries. 

A former Chairman of Southern Ijaw Local Government Area and ex militant leader, Joshua Macaiver was second with two thousand, and seventy-eight votes while the APC’s candidate in the 2019 guber polls, Chief David Lyon came third with one thousand, five hundred and eighty-four votes. 

Sylva vows to develop the state if electe

In an acceptance speech, Chief Sylva said there was no victor no vanquished, stressing that Bayelsa State was in dire need of development.

He vowed to tackle the challenges of flooding and human capacity development if elected in the November11 governorship election in the State. 

The process was concluded by affirmation and ratification by five hundred delegates, five from each ward in the eight local government areas at the special state congress at the APC Secretariat in the Bayelsa State capital. 

The party’s primaries was monitored by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission and the State APC Primary Election Appeal Committee headed by retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, Mr. Habila Joshua 

Reporting by Alambo Datonye; Editing by Annabel Nwachukwu