Football Headline News Sport

FIFA receives 4 bids to host 2027 women’s world cup

USMNT won the last event in 2019.

World football governing body FIFA has received four bids to host the Women’s 2027 World Cup.

Brazil and South Africa have submitted bids, while Belgium, Netherlands and Germany have launched a joint expression of interest.

USA and Mexico have also launched a combined bid to stage the tournament.

As standard procedure, countries have to submit their full bids by May 19. The host(s) are set to be chosen by Fifa Congress via public voting on May 17, 2024.

USA, the current holders, have hosted the tournament twice back in 1999 and 2003, but not as a joint bid.

Germany hosted the prestigious competition in 2011.

This year’s event will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Writing by Tersoo Nicholas