Football Headline News Sport

CAF opens bidding process for Women’s Champions League, 2024 CHAN

Africa’s football governing body CAF has opened the bidding process for the next host of 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League and the African Nations Championship (“CHAN”) 2024 competition. 

The submissions for applications will close on Sunday, 06 May 2023. 

CAF’s Executive Committee will be responsible for examining candidatures from National Associations for the organization of the two competitions. 

In line with the requirements, the bid books to be submitted by bidding countries must contain the name of the stadiums hosting the matches, accommodation and transport facilities, training facilities in addition to government guarantees including but not limited to entry visas and permits for the whole duration of the competition and a guarantee that any commitment which is formally entered into by the concerned National Association will also be considered as accepted by its government. 

CAF Women’s Champions League Previous host;

2022: Morocco (won by ASFAR, Morocco)

2021: Egypt (won by Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)

CHAN Previous host;

2023 (2022 version): Hosted by Algeria (won by Senegal) 

2022 (2020 version): Hosted by Cameroon (won by Morocco) 

2018: Hosted by Morocco (won by Morocco)

2016: Hosted by Rwanda (won by Democratic Republic of Congo) 

2014: Hosted by South Africa (won by Libya) 

2011: Hosted by Sudan: (won by Tunisia) 

2009: Hosted by Cote d’Ivoire: (won by Democratic Republic of Congo.

Writing by Tersoo Nicholas