Headline Nasarawa News Nigeria Politics

Nasarawa tribunal dismisses LP’s petition

Nasarawa State National and State houses of Assembly Election petition tribunal during a sitting in Lafia. Photo: Kalu Idika/ Radio Nigeria

The Nasarawa State National and State Houses of Assembly Election petition tribunal sitting in Lafia on Wednesday dismissed the petition filed by the House of Representatives Candidate of the Labour Party for Lafia Obi federal constituency in the 2023 National Assembly election, Mr Ali Agum.

Mr. Agum who had challenged the declaration of Abubakar Sarki Dahiru of Social Democratic Party, SDP as the winner of the House of Representatives election by the INEC also filed an application to withdraw the petition.

Ruling on the application, the Chairman of the three-man panel of justices, Francesca Nnang dismissed the petition.

Also ruling on the petition filed by Wakili Kabiru Mohammed of the NNPP against Senator-elect for Nasarawa West Senatorial district, Aliyu Wadada of the SDP, Justice Francesca Nnang adjourned the matter to 13 May for conclusion of the pre-hearing.

She also adjourned the petition by the Allied Peoples Movement Candidates for Karu/ Keffi /Kokona federal constituency challenging the election of Jonathan Gaza Gbefwi of the SDP to 13 May for conclusion of pre-hearing.

On the motion filed by Bunu Yahaya of the PDP for withdrawal of his petition against the House of Representatives- elect for Awe/Doma/ Keana federal constituency, Nalaraba Abubakar Hassan, the Chairman of the tribunal reserved her ruling for tomorrow.

Reporting by Kalu Idika, Editing by Abdullahi Lamino and Annabel Nwachukwu