Football Headline News Sport

Haaland wins Football Writers Association award

Erling Haaland and Sam Kerr.Photo/Sportstar.

Man City and Norway forward, Brut Erling Haaland has been named the 2022/23 Football Writers’ Association Men’s Footballer of the Year, while Sam Kerr, who plays for Chelsea, won the Women’s award.

Haaland received 82% of the vote, well ahead of Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard.

At only 22 years of age, Haaland’s goals have come in just 47 appearances while his goal against West Ham earlier this month took his tally to 35 in the league, earning him the outright record for most goals scored in a Premier League campaign.

Haaland and Kerr will receive their awards at the FWA Footballer of the Year 75th anniversary dinner in London on May 25.

Writing by Tersoo Nicholas; Editing by Tony Okerafor