Headline Lagos Local News Nigeria

Sanwo-Olu Swears in 8 New Permanent Secretaries

Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu flanked by his Deputy, Dr Obafemi Hamzat (left), Mrs Sukanmi Oyegbola (right) and the newly appointed Permanent Secretaries. Photo Omolara Omosanya/Radio Nigeria.

With just 11 days to the end of his first term in office, Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Thursday swore in eight newly-appointed Permanent Secretaries into the State Public Service.

The Governor’s latest move brings the number of Permanent Secretaries in the State Civil Service to 59.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony at the Lagos House, Ikeja, he Charged the new perm secs to implement all policies and programmes of government with loyalty, commitment and vigour, pledging that his administration would not relent in fulfilling its campaign promises to the people.

“We are not stopping at all; … ensuring that our people feel purposeful governance is what we are committed to, and we want to assure our citizens that we will not stop. The greater Lagos that we talked about in all spheres of endeavours will happen in our life-time. We are on track and it will happen,” Governor Sanwo-Olu  said.

He also reiterated his administration’s pledge to continue to be merit-driven and gender-sensitive in appointments into top Civil service and Political positions.

The Governor pointed out that with the swearing in of the new secretaries, Lagos now has the largest number of Permanent Secretaries in the Country.

The Lagos State Head of Service, Hakeem Muri-Okunola, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Public Service Office, Olasunkanmi Oyegbola, explained that the new appointees, some of whom were promoted in November, 2022, were selected through rigorous, fair and transparent processes to “add value to policy development and implementation in the Public Service”.

The new permanent secretaries are: Moshhod Adewuyi, Office of State Auditor- General whose appointment is expected to be ratified by the Lagos State House of Assembly; Adebowale Bashir, Tutor-General, Education District One; Patunola-Ajayi Olayinka, Ministry of Waterfront Infrastructure Development; Dr Yusuf  Adejoke, Tutor-General, Education District Six.

Others are: Amuni Abayomi, Tutor-General, Education District Five; Olushekun Olayide, Office of Local Government Establishments and Training; Obadina Akinbode, Local Government Service Commission, and Akanbi Adenike, Office of the Chief of Staff.

Reporting by Omolara Omosanya; Editing by Daniel Adejo and Tony Okerafor