Headline Judiciary Local News Nigeria

39 new Election Petition Tribunal members inaugurated

The newly inaugurated members of the Election Petition Tribunal. Photo: Ifeoma Nwovu/Radio Nigeria

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, has inaugurated 39 additional members of the 2023 Election Petition Tribunals.

While swearing them in at the Supreme Court complex in Abuja, Justice Ariwoola advised them to willingly submit themselves to the sanctity of the rule of law and supremacy of the Constitution in the discharge of their judicial functions.

Justice Ariwoola also charged them with the power to adjudicate on electoral disputes and take decisions in accordance with their convictions, which according to him, must be deeply rooted in law and not on sentiments or
public opinion.

“| pray the Almighty God will grant you the courage and wisdom to carry out this responsibility without faltering or failing. | congratulate you and look forward to hearing good commentary on your conduct
and sterling performance at the end of your assignment.”

He therefore urged them to be mindful of the oath had taken and restore the confidence in the judiciary.

Reporting by Ifeoma Nwovu; Editing by Oluwaseyi Ajibade