Headline Judiciary National News Nigeria

Court of Appeal gets 9 new Justices

With the death of Justice Centus Nweze and Justice Augie’s retirement, the Supreme Court is now left with 11 Justices as against the Constitutionally stipulated 22 Justices. Photo: Radio Nigeria Archive

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Olukayode Ariwoola will on Wednesday administer oath of office on the newly appointed nine Justices of the Court of Appeal.

They would be inaugurated by 11:00am at the Main Court auditorium of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

A statement by the Supreme Court’s Director of Press and Information, Dr Festus Akande listed the name of the Justices to include Hannatu Laja-Balogun from Kaduna State, Binta Zubairu from Kaduna State and Peter Obiora from Anambra State.

Others are Justices Okon Abang from Akwa Ibom State, Asma’u Mainoma from the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Lateef Ganiyu from Oyo State and Jane Iyang from Cross River State.

The rest are Hadiza Shagari from Sokoto State and Paul Bassi from Borno State.

Meanwhile, Justice Amina Adamu Augie will formally retire from the Supreme Court’s Bench on Thursday having attained the mandatory retirement age of 70 years on Sunday September 3, 2023.

Justice Amina Augie was sworn in as Justice of Supreme Court on 7th November, 2016.

Writing by Ifeoma Nwovu; Editing by Oluwaseyi Ajibade and Daniel Adejo