Headline Local News

Radio Nigeria Reporter, Victorson Agbenson wins GYB Essay Competition Prize

Radio Nigeria’s political editor Victorson Agbenson displaying his Awards with Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello at the Event on Saturday.

Radio Nigeria’s political editor Victorson Agbenson has won the third Governor Yahaya Bello essay prize from political and crime correspondents as well as editors.

The team of assessor’s led by the head of Journalism Department, Lagos State University, Professor Tunde Akanni scored Comrade Agbenson the highest mark of seventy six percent in the writing competition which had forty one entries.

Announcing the result, one of the assessors and General Manager of Bronze FM Benin,Mrs Bimbo Oyetunde said Mr. Tunji Olanipekun of Arise Television came second while Mr. Chibuzo Ukaibe of Leadership newspaper took the third position.

There were other consolation prizes in the competition which had participating Journalists from various parts of the country.

Photos of the event

The Kogi state Governor who presented the awards and cash prizes to the journalists pledged his commitment to continue to contribute to the capacity building of Journalists across the country.

At the maiden edition of the competition in Lokoja in June this year, two journalists in Kogi State became millionaires at the presentation of prizes to the different categories of winners in the maiden edition of the GYB Essay Competition for journalists in the state.

The Correspondent of The Sun Newspaper in Kogi State, Emmanuel Adeyemi, won the competition with a total score of 75.8 per cent. He was followed closely by Richard Elesho of The News, who scored 72.6 per cent.

The Correspondent of Independent Newspapers in the state, Julius Atabor, was the second runner-up, with a total of 70.6 per cent, while Adeiza Momoh jimoh of Nigerian Link and Bashir Muhammad of New Telegraph were tied for the Fourth Place, each scoring 70.4 per cent. All winners were rewarded.

Reporting by Solomon Olayere; Editing by Adeniyi Bakare